Got any Irish in ya? Want some?

March 14, 2008

Have any Chambord or Frangelico around? An ounce or two in your stout will soothe the wildest Fenian beast. Use a snifter or stemless wine glass as this will hold more than a pints worth and make for good wafting. Straight up I prefer Murphy’s, but somehow Guinness has the right amount of bitter to balance the sweet in the booze. I know a very, very special guy who likes Van Gogh’s Double Espresso Vodka in his. I don’t recommend you try Baileys (curdling ick) or Starbucks liquor (too sweet). Next I will try Cointreau.

Now go get fluthered, Sláinte!

Update: Cointreau sux. The orangey gets sort of washed out and all you have left is a plain booze flavor coming through. I would like to think that perhaps Grand Marnier might be a better orange option ?? 

 

3 Responses to “Got any Irish in ya? Want some?”

  1. Corrine Says:

    Very yum.

  2. ithinkimdying Says:

    I’ve decided that I LOVE Murphy’s. Much more than Guinness. Guinness has lost it’s magic for me. I still love it–don’t get me wrong. But it isn’t as sacred as it once was.


Leave a Reply

