As light as it gets

March 21, 2008

edit: For those of you loadies who found this post by googling “MGD 64 alcohol content” I think it’s actually like 2.8% – Drink up, buttercups!

“MGD 64 is a sensible choice for consumers working hard to keep up with the pace of their life,” said Grant Leech, MGD marketing director. “Whether they are out with a group of friends or taking a break at the end of the day, MGD 64 provides all of the great beer aroma and flavor consumers want but with about 35 percent fewer calories than the typical light beer.”

Now those sound like the kind of people I want to identify with. If I drink this, I will get very young, very skinny, and uber cool. With an umlaut. I’m sure this quote was actually said by Grant, and not mined from lifestyle segmentation reports and injected into the press release by a booth babe.

Anyway, so it does taste decent, mostly because it doesn’t have a lot of flavor. You don’t want your light beer to try too hard with taste, because then you usually just end up with a skunky finish. I can see chugging these on a warm day and feeling pretty good about it.

Just keep in mind that the bathroom will be your BFF, because you’ll need to chug A LOT of these to get any good buzz going. I drank 4 of them last night. For those of you keeping track at home, that’s 256 calories. And I didn’t even feel my tongue so much as tingle. It turns out the alcohol content is a mere 3%. It’s so close to NA beer, that a recovering alcoholic or pregnant lady could drink this and feel no guilt.

But a dieter that wants to catch a buzz quickly over one beer might be just as well off with flavor and some punched up alcohol content, like a Lakefront Belgian White. Lakefront does a tasty job with beer. Especially when they do samples at Discount Liquor. Dude who runs that show is pimp. He wants you to try everything. Now that’s marketing.

I also see a March Madness drinking game here, somewhere: 64 Teams, 64 Calories, 64 Beers. Miller needs to put their stealth marketers on this one (i.e. the ones who don’t work on the “drink responsibly” campaign).

5 Responses to “As light as it gets”

  1. Meghan Says:

    Fantastic post. Just fantastic.

  2. Ang Says:

    I have decided that it’s better for me to just stick with Lite. Since I have to drink so many of the MGD 64s to get a buzz, I end up drinking more calories than if I were drinking Lite.

  3. ithinkimdying Says:

    Yeah I gotta say I am no longer a fan of the 64. I tried it and all it gives me is bloat. Who wants that?

  4. mparsche Says:

    You have been tagged. Smooches.

  5. StephG Says:

    Discount liquor is my favorite liquor store. True story.


Leave a Reply

