Mom Jeans

June 29, 2009

I realize that I’m a 30-something suburban mom construct who refuses to wear spiky pumps, skinny jeans or skin tight muffin-top celebrating shirts. But that doesn’t preclude me from noticing that music has gotten a vag hair better lately. For a while I thought I was just a washed up fangirl because I couldn’t get behind the faux-punk emo so-called alternative (finger quotes) “extreme” sound of the WB/UPN generation. I’d like a little less whine in my radio, thx.

But I like where things are going now.

Luckily, my stroller walk infused maternity leave days forced me to update my MP3 playlist (notice I didn’t say iPod, so suck it Apple). I think a good place to download music, if you have to do it legally, is Amazon for it’s DRM-free straight up MP3s (suck it iTunes). So me, my baby and my lactomams have something interesting to listen to around the hood. Hooray for the newish neo-wave altie electronica junk. It may all mostly be an 80s rip-off, but a lot more bearable than crimped hair.

2 Responses to “Mom Jeans”

  1. Jessie Says:

    I have mucho love for Metric. I’ve never heard of some of the others though – I’ll have to check them out!


  2. Dude! I’ve been humming “Waves” all day. Metric makes me feel like I’m 15 again. Wait… is that a good thing?


Leave a Reply

